The Malibu WAKESETTER 22 MXZ is the official towboat of the Red Bull Wake Open in Tampa, Florida on July 3-6. Representing nine countries, 36 athletes will be competing at this second annual event. Riders will compete in three disciplines, Boat, Big Air and Wake Park. Four riders are invited from Team Malibu including defending overall champion, Raph Derome, Phil Soven, Chad Sharpe and Olivier Derome. Dean Smith, team rider for Axis Wake Research, also secured an invite. 

Brian Grubb will be the towboat driver again in 2013 at a private site outside of Tampa. “I’m psyched that this event will be towed by Malibu again this year,” Grubb said. “We see the most diverse riders in the world and you can’t beat this site. We’ve got perfectly calm, deep blue water and the 22 MXZ will deliver the best wake possible. Red Bull and Malibu have put together the most ideal setup for a boat contest, and I’m looking forward to witnessing some next level riding.”

The Boat format will remain the same, with each rider allowed five wake tricks maximum down a long course. They must also include a signature move that consists of a 360 or less, encouraging air and style. The Sesitec 2.0 cableway will be used for the Wake Park and Big Air competitions in downtown Tampa on July 5-6. A combined best score from the three events will determine the overall winner, which is one of the most coveted titles in the sport today.

Additionally, for the first time ever in U.S. competition, a ramp-to-ramp park feature will be introduced, allowing riders to push the limits. Come out and watch the event yourself, or tune into NBC on Saturday, July 6 at 4:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. PT.Lineup (subject to change)

Shane Bonifay                 Dylan Miller

Harley Clifford                  Chris O’Shea

Nick Davies                      Nate Perry

Olivier Derome                 Daniel Powers

Raphael Derome              Brenton Priestly

Mike Dowdy                     Aaron Rathy

Adam Errington                Marc Rossiter

Tom Fooshee                  Eric Ruck

Daniel Grant                    Chad Sharpe

Austin Hair                       Dean Smith

Danny Harf                      Bob Soven

Kevin Henshaw                Phil Soven

Dominik Hernler               Kasen Suyderhoud

Cody Johnson                  Shota Tezuka

Steel Lafferty                   Nico Von Lerchenfeld

Mitch Langfield                 Shawn Watson

Jimmy LaRiche                JD Webb

Rusty Malinoski                James Windsor


2013 Red Bull Wake Open

Tampa Convention Center – Tampa, FL

Friday, July 5, 3 p.m. – 8 p.m.

Saturday, July 6, 12 p.m. – 6 p.m.

LIVE ON NBC Saturday, July 6 at 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT